Atik One 6.0 now bogging sharpcap to crawl

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Post Reply
MrAstroBen
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:19 pm

Atik One 6.0 now bogging sharpcap to crawl

Post by MrAstroBen » Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:08 pm

Robin,

Not sure what has changed as probably done a few updates since i last used the Atik with Sharpcap.

I use to polar align on a portable mount. It worked fine before but now the controls take an absolute age to respond.

I am guessing its related to the looping/downloading.

Reducing the frame rate to 1 every 4 sec helps a bit but adjusting exposure etc is barely possible.

Tested on two laptops to be sure.

The 290M still works but aligning using the imaging camera adds a lot of simplicity.

Thanks Rob

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2735
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Atik One 6.0 now bogging sharpcap to crawl

Post by admin » Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:56 pm

Hi,

The most likely causes here would be either a change in SharpCap or a change in the Ascom driver or a change in the settings you are using. I don't think I've done anything to SharpCap that would have this sort of effect when using an Ascom camera, but it's difficult to be sure. You could try going back to an earlier version of SharpCap to see if that fixes things again (if it doesn't then it's likely that either the settings or the Ascom driver to blame).

On a practical note, this sort of unresponsiveness is often caused by the camera reading out frequently and taking a long time for the readout. With a number of brands of camera it's impossible to send other messages to the camera while the readout is occurring, meaning that messages like adjusting the exposure or other settings can be locked out until the exposure has downloaded. You may get better responsiveness by using binning or by selecting an ROI to reduce the time taken to read out each frame.

Cheers, Robin

MrAstroBen
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:19 pm

Re: Atik One 6.0 now bogging sharpcap to crawl

Post by MrAstroBen » Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:15 pm

Robin, i still have both 'original' versions of each on another laptop in my obs. I will check the Atik driver version. It works without issue on that.

It could be the Atik Ascom driver. I read today they have been playing with it since March due to the release of Dusk which is an update of Artemis.

Thanks Rob

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest