Exposure in file name

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
roelb
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:36 pm

Re: Exposure in file name

Post by roelb » Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:03 am

Robin,

When will this issue be solved.
It is rather annoying not to have the sub exposure time into the file names.
Thanks in advance.
Roel
Celestron Nexstar Evolution 8 - Celestron Nexstar 6 SE - OTA 5 SE - StarSense
Starlight Xpress Lodestar X2 Mono -- ZWO ASI290MM -- ZWO ASI224MC -- ZWO ASI533MC-Pro

Dynan
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:02 pm

Re: Exposure in file name

Post by Dynan » Sat Jun 29, 2019 11:03 pm

Has there been any progress on this error? I really like to have Exposure Time when combining subs from different nights, targets, etc. Exposure time changes so much with conditions.

Thanks for your time!
:D

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4471
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Exposure in file name

Post by admin » Sun Jun 30, 2019 10:13 pm

Actually, there is. I did this in one of the updates of SharpCap 3.2 a few weeks back and then I obviously forgot to tell anybody about it!

If you download the latest builds you'll find that there is a new SubExposure tag available in the file name templating system which allows this problem to be resolved.

Cheers, Robin

roelb
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:36 pm

Re: Exposure in file name

Post by roelb » Mon Jul 01, 2019 12:29 am

Some time ago I have seen that this issue has been fixed.
All works fine yet.
Roel
Celestron Nexstar Evolution 8 - Celestron Nexstar 6 SE - OTA 5 SE - StarSense
Starlight Xpress Lodestar X2 Mono -- ZWO ASI290MM -- ZWO ASI224MC -- ZWO ASI533MC-Pro

mAnKiNd
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: Exposure in file name

Post by mAnKiNd » Fri Mar 20, 2020 12:33 am

admin wrote:
Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:18 am
Hi,

I think I would need to add another template option for 'SubExposure' to fix this properly - if I change the 'Exposure' parameter to be the sub exposure length then other things will break (like saved file metadata values).

There are a couple of other requests for more template parameters (like temperature), so I will give this area of the program an update in the future.

cheers,

Robin
A friend of mine here on Long Island started using Sharpcap recently after some sessions together and he pointed out that there is no temperature filenaming parameter. I searched the forum and found your post here and thought to follow up with it.

Thanks
Minos

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4471
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Exposure in file name

Post by admin » Fri Mar 20, 2020 6:58 pm

Good point, although the temperature is included you capture dark frames using the dark frame wizard from the tools menu.

I will bear it in mind.

Cheers, Robin

mAnKiNd
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: Exposure in file name

Post by mAnKiNd » Fri Mar 20, 2020 10:24 pm

That's right it is. However, when doing a simple start capture with frame type darks, to for example integrate later in Pixinsight, it uses the filenaming parameters.

Cheers
Minos

Post Reply