Live Stack with Flat Frame Bug?

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
GaryS
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:18 pm
Location: Boston, USA/Jackson Hole, USA

Re: Live Stack with Flat Frame Bug?

Post by GaryS » Sun Jan 26, 2020 1:36 am

Thank you Chris.

As the evening progresses, do you need to redo the Flats as the focus shifts a bit? Is the Flat that sensitive to small tweaks in focus? I also hear others taking about not realigning the camera - does a tiny shift in that from when the Flat was done invalidate the Flats?
Best,
Gary

BlackWikkett
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Live Stack with Flat Frame Bug?

Post by BlackWikkett » Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:16 am

GaryS

I usually don't redo the flat unless something in the image train changes. For example if I change filter. I've been very very lucky with my main scope a GSO based 6 inch RC. I also have a Moonlight focuser which has made all the difference. Once I focus at the beginning of the night the temperature in NE Georgia, USA doesn't change that wildly.

-Chris

GaryS
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:18 pm
Location: Boston, USA/Jackson Hole, USA

Re: Live Stack with Flat Frame Bug?

Post by GaryS » Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:12 pm

Hi Chris:

I've used Darks without Flats and it seems fine. Will Flats work without a Dark being applied? I hear differing thoughts on this.
One more....do you capture and apply Darks when using a mono camera? (I have the ASI 178 MM.)

Cheers
Gary

User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 1188
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Live Stack with Flat Frame Bug?

Post by turfpit » Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:35 pm

Gary
do you capture and apply Darks when using a mono camera
Have a look at viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1809. The info there applies to both colour and mono cameras. I will add some info for mono cameras into that thread.
Will Flats work without a Dark being applied
Sort of. With a cooled camera and shorter exposures the results may be acceptable. See the link above for what you will not be removing.
I hear differing thoughts on this
Part of the problems with forums. I have found that advice supported by images is the most helpful. Don't be afraid to try things yourself and evaluate the results. You could get on www.astrobin.com, find some images you like and see if darks are used.

Dave

GaryS
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:18 pm
Location: Boston, USA/Jackson Hole, USA

Re: Live Stack with Flat Frame Bug?

Post by GaryS » Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:32 pm

Thank you Dave!

I'll get into the linked topic and see what's up.
BTW, I agree on your experimentation point. Being 1 year into all this and still feeling there's still so much to learn, I sometimes when I haven't had time to test something, I try to short circuit the process and ask others.

Thanks for your help.
Gary

User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 1188
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Live Stack with Flat Frame Bug?

Post by turfpit » Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:36 pm

3 years in and still feeling there is so much to learn … :lol:

Post Reply