Folder Monitor Camera

Discussions, Bug Reports and Issues related to Beta versions of SharpCap
Post Reply
SteveInNZ
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:56 pm

Folder Monitor Camera

Post by SteveInNZ » Thu Jul 05, 2018 2:04 am

Selecting "Folder Monitor Camera" puts SC into a bit of a death spiral preventing me from sending the error report.
Best I could do is a screen grab. There are 21 of these before it stops.
I've also attached the log file.
SC01.jpg
SC01.jpg (39.6 KiB) Viewed 1723 times
Steve.
Attachments
Log_2018-07-05T14_01_34-7392.zip
(2.54 KiB) Downloaded 67 times

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4322
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Folder Monitor Camera

Post by admin » Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:18 am

Hi Steve,

thanks for the report - turns out I had introduced a bug which causes that crash if you haven't used the camera before. That means that I'm the only person in the world who can use it in that version of SharpCap because I had used the camera before I introduced that bug.

I have a fix and will update the build this evening (UK time).

cheers,

Robin

desper0
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:59 pm

Re: Folder Monitor Camera

Post by desper0 » Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:25 pm

Hi Robin. I have a question, will the new Folder Monitor feature allow me to use the Polar Align feature of SharpCap Pro using images saved to a folder by my Nikon d5300?

Thanks for your great software!

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4322
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Folder Monitor Camera

Post by admin » Thu Jul 05, 2018 7:52 pm

Hi,

you *might* be able to make it work if you have the Nikon continually taking images and saving them to a folder and then SharpCap monitoring that folder. It would be an interesting experiment.

cheers,

Robin

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4322
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Folder Monitor Camera

Post by admin » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:20 pm

Steve,

try the folder monitor camera again with the latest build (just uploaded) when you get a chance - I think I've fixed it.

cheers,

Robin

SteveInNZ
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:56 pm

Re: Folder Monitor Camera

Post by SteveInNZ » Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:17 pm

Yes. That seems to work now. Thanks.

I dropped a North pole shot into the polar align function and it solved straight away so Nick might be in luck. I didn't have as much luck with a South pole shot but I wouldn't read anything into that yet. I need to play with it some more.

Steve.

mforbes1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 3:57 pm

Re: Folder Monitor Camera

Post by mforbes1 » Fri Jun 05, 2020 4:15 pm

Hi,

new sharpcap pro license user 2 days ago. When I click on "folder monitor camera" in the dropdown camera menu, sharpcap crashes and gives me this error.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Mike
Attachments
sharpcap error.JPG
sharpcap error.JPG (157.79 KiB) Viewed 240 times

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4322
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Folder Monitor Camera

Post by admin » Fri Jun 05, 2020 7:22 pm

Hi,

Thanks for submitting the bug report – I think the problem is that you are trying to test the functionality on files that SharpCap does not have full access to in the install directory. I will fix this for the next update, but the problem shouldn't happen if you use files in a folder that SharpCap has full access to.

Cheers, Robin

Post Reply