Connecting with telescope

A place to post guides, instructions and HOWTO documents on the use of SharpCap and Astrophotography in general
Forum rules
One tutorial per topic please.
Please only post content that you have created in this form.
Tutorials should be either in PDF format as an attachment or written in the first post of the topic. Links to video tutorials you created are also acceptable.
wcstarks

Connecting with telescope

Post by wcstarks »

I have had my telescope for some time now, but without using a computer or camera. I am just advancing to using my computer, astrocameras and to using this software for the first time, so I am very new at this.

The software manual speaks of focusing, mount control and polar alignment among other features, which would need direct control of the scope and mount, but it says nothing about connecting with the telescope. How does that happen? I have a Meade 8" LX200 GPS CTS. My computer connects with the scope via the scope hand controller for controlling the scope using the AutoStarSuite.
1) Does SharpCap somehow discover this and can control the scope natively?
2) Does the software need ASCOM installed to control the scope.
3) Do I need to control the scope with its native computer software, and bounce back and forth between the two programs?
4) Do I need to use the native scope program to find an object, or does SharpCap also provide this feature?
admin
Site Admin

Re: Connecting with telescope

Post by admin »

Hi,

controlling the mount from SharpCap all happens via ASCOM, so you need to install

* The ASCOM platform (latest version)
* An ASCOM driver for your mount