Page 2 of 2

Re: Canon

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 9:34 am
by gilbertonp
Hi Robin, if you have a specific sharcap version I can test it at least to see if it works better or not. I remember to download from your forum a dslr ascom driver version explicitly versioned in its name "for sharcap test". I will post my issue on Github too to let him know about it..

Re: Canon

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 6:42 pm
by admin
Hi,

this is the 'special SharpCap' version announcment post - viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1006#p5078

I haven't had much time for this since August, so I'm not sure if the main version has fixes now that are not in this download.

cheers,

Robin

Re: Canon

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:32 am
by gilbertonp
Hello Robin, just to let you know I tried it and the issue was the same and I even compiled the last version I got from git, same result. It crashed with the same exception error. No image displayed on screen as the camera was not connected. To confirm it's not my camera or usb port related It works with APT.

Philippe

Re: Canon

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:24 pm
by Biscotte
Oh Great and Mighty Warrior Robin
(not a good bargaining position!)

Any movement on Canon cameras?

An associated thought that occurred, is in the form of a question.

I use the excellent Backyard EOS. There is built in third party integration with dedicated connection to plate solving AstroTortilla via port 1499.
Fully understand that plate solving is done in SCap. However, BYEOS has all Canon cameras 'mastered', and is my weapon of choice.
Have you thought of having a word with Guylain Rochon over there (Canadian)?
https://www.otelescope.com
Between you two, you may have a ready solution to camera control for polar alignment - the part of SCap I have interest in.
(Just asking).

Biscotte

Re: Canon

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 6:50 pm
by admin
Hi,

I'm sorry to say that the support for DSLR cameras is still very much on hold and will be for the foreseeable future. If someone does produce a workable Ascom driver or direct show driver that works with DSLR's then I will happily make any tweaks necessary to SharpCap to work nicely with it but that would be pretty much all I have time for.

I do wonder however if there is a way to control programs like APT or backyard Eos from other applications. It might be possible to take that approach so that another piece of software controls the actual camera but SharpCap gets to process the images. An interesting idea…

Cheers, Robin

Re: Canon

Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 3:41 pm
by cuivenion
There's always the folder monitor camera route if you've already BYEOS or APT.

Re: Canon

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:18 am
by anonymouse
Danoglide64 wrote:
Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:58 pm
Any chance of Sony's A6000?

Pleeeeeeeease,
Dano
There is an outside chance Sony will work with the canon driver, see here viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1006.
The Aphas are supposed to support Picture Transfer Protocol (PTE).