Moravian Instruments C1x/C3-61000 and 26000

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13177
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Moravian Instruments C1x/C3-61000 and 26000

#21

Post by admin »

Hi,

I just had a look at binning on the Moravian cameras, and while the SDK works for me, I get odd images

Unbinned
unbinned.png
unbinned.png (592.68 KiB) Viewed 55185 times
binned
binned.png
binned.png (206.4 KiB) Viewed 55185 times
It looks to me like the binning code in the SDK is not accounting for the pixel value overflow correctly (or at least something like that).
Anyway, I will include this in the next update to allow you to test for your cameras - maybe the CX SDK has this correct even if the GX one doesn't.

cheers,

Robin
MMys
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 7:08 pm

Re: Moravian Instruments C1x/C3-61000 and 26000

#22

Post by MMys »

Hi,
Great. What camera did you used ?

When I´m binning my C3-61k over ASCOM driver in another SW, no overflow occur.
But you may be right, Cx driver can be OK. I will test after release.

Martin
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13177
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Moravian Instruments C1x/C3-61000 and 26000

#23

Post by admin »

Hi Martin,

that was a C1-1500. I will be uploading the new version with binning enabled later today, so it will be interesting to hear if your cameras work any better.

thanks,

Robin
MMys
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 7:08 pm

Re: Moravian Instruments C1x/C3-61000 and 26000

#24

Post by MMys »

Dear Robin,
The C1x/C3 61000 camera can now make short exposures (the 50ms limit is gone) I upgraded firmware, downloaded latest system drivers, lastest SharpCap and also replaced DLL by the new one form SDK archive (it is here: https://www.gxccd.com/cat?id=164&lang=409) find and use cXusb.dll file.

But now I have an problem. At full image, there is one column with noise on the left of the image:

And when use ROI, it looks like camera hangs, fps starts to falling down and then sharpCap write so camera was disconnected or stopped responding.

Probably there is something wrong with readout timing, and camera performs reset. I asked yet manufacturer, what can cause this, and what you can have wrong in your SW or they in camera driver.
C361k-full.JPG
C361k-full.JPG (122.88 KiB) Viewed 53856 times
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13177
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Moravian Instruments C1x/C3-61000 and 26000

#25

Post by admin »

Hi,

thanks for the report - good to hear that things are close to working properly.

On the column of bad data on the left hand side, I think that is something the is going to have to be fixed in the SDK by the manufactuerer - it sounds as though everything is working from SharpCap's point of view (frame data is being provided), it's just not quite the right data.

For the failure in ROI mode, the best thing to do would be to send me the SharpCap log captured after the problem has occurred. Ideally, turn on 'additional logging of camera hardware communications' in the logging settings before opening the camera - that will mean the log should contain pretty much every interaction between SharpCap and the SDK, so I can see what is going on.

I will include the latest SDK in the next update of SharpCap 4.1 beta - I have just tested that update with the cameras I have here and it seems to work fine. Obviously you are getting the latest version by copying DLLs, but at least that step will be avoided for you.

cheers,


Robin
MMys
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 7:08 pm

Re: Moravian Instruments C1x/C3-61000 and 26000

#26

Post by MMys »

I tried with enabled detailed logging of camera. The problem is not instant. It occurs typically after some change of ROI (size, position). Now the camera disconnected after changing ROI to 957x800, but this is quite random. This line in log preceded the problem:

Verbose 16:38:07.707337 #38 Camera : SharpCap.Cameras.Moravian.CxCamera.DoLongExposure :: Starting DoLongExposure(0.003465, True, 7022, 4062, 957, 800, 1759210061888, 1531200, System.Threading.CancellationToken)

The whole log is here:
http://www.hvbo.cz/data/uploads/shared/ ... 34-636.log

I always was speeking with camera and SDK supplier to make the library supplying all, what SharpCap need for UI, setup, etc. To avoid you have to hardcode anything, what is missing in SDK. So I hoped the swap of dll must work :-)
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13177
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Moravian Instruments C1x/C3-61000 and 26000

#27

Post by admin »

Hi,

thanks for posting the log - it's interesting...

What seems to be happening is that you have requested the resolution change from 1000x1000 to 957x800, so SharpCap stops capturing frames at 1000x1000 and then gets prepared to start at 957x800. It looks like SharpCap asks for the first frame to be captured at the new resolution, and the next thing of relevance in the log is this

Code: Select all

Info   	16:38:14.085274	#1 	Received hardware removal event for \\?\USB#VID_1347&PID_0C30#7&25c81b95&0&3#{4833ee92-1978-4a02-85af-94396406c32e}				
Warning	16:38:14.088196	#1 	Moravian camera 1760884902448 has disconnected while in use		
What that is reporting is that the camera has disconnected from USB - presumably the camera firmware has glitched or crashed in response to the resolution change, and that is effectively game over for talking to the camera at that point. A few seconds later the camera reconnects to USB - maybe it has some sort of internal watchdog that reboots it or reinitializes it?

It looks like this is something that Moravian Instruments will have to help out with - either fixing the camera firmware to avoid it glitching or expaining what sequence of requests cause the glitch so that it can be avoided.

cheers,

Robin
MMys
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 7:08 pm

Re: Moravian Instruments C1x/C3-61000 and 26000

#28

Post by MMys »

Hi,
I posted yor response to Moravian Instrument. My result is similar, camera performs connection reset.

Martin
MMys
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 7:08 pm

Re: Moravian Instruments C1x/C3-61000 and 26000

#29

Post by MMys »

Hi,
probably solved by manufacturer. After firmware upgrade all seems to be OK.
Include actual libraries from SDK into your SW, and thats all.
Last edited by MMys on Fri Mar 03, 2023 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13177
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Moravian Instruments C1x/C3-61000 and 26000

#30

Post by admin »

Hi,

glad to hear that the issue is resolved - you shouldn't need to copy any files if you are using the latest SharpCap 4.1 beta versions, since I have included the latest Moravian SDK (4.1.2) since version 4.1.10188.

cheers,

Robin
Post Reply