DSO Astrophotography with CMOS Cameras (Nikon D800 FF & D3300 Crop)

KEJ

DSO Astrophotography with CMOS Cameras (Nikon D800 FF & D3300 Crop)

Post by KEJ »

Robin hi

Earlier today I watched your video presentation on Youtube “Deep Sky Astrophotography With CMOS Cameras” – Brilliant, thank you, really good.

Could I please just pick your brains and ask for your recommendations, based on my questions below (eventually I was possibly going to buy a dedicated cooled astro camera however, now I am thinking…………..).

1) Camera or Filter
After watching your clip, I am starting to think that “Bang for Buck” I would be better off buying a light pollution filter, rather that a dedicated cooled Astro camera for the moment, especially as I am still learning as it would appear the biggest problem is that unwanted light!

2) Filters
I live on the outskirts of City, but it’s still pretty light polluted(Bortel 6) what I wanted to ask was if you were buying a Light pollution filter for street lamps and houses(back garden is realatively dark, but...), which would you recommend(I have in mind 2” round filter sitting between the camera and scope) but unsure of the type and this would be used for galaxies and nebulas?

3) Exposure Times
Recently I have been experimenting taking longer exposures and getting 5 mins with no star trails, but after watching your clip(and really wanting you to confirm), that really rather than(example):

13 X 5min exposures

I would be better off with(based on say my Bortle Class 6) BW 12secs, colour 36 secs, therefore more in the range
of:

65 X 1min
or
100 X 40 secs

Would that be a correct assumption using my DSO equip below ?

Sorry for all the questions, I did post this message earlier, but could find no trace, so my apology if a similar message is already there.

Kind regards
Keith

My Location Bortle 6

My Equip:

DSO
SW AZ-GTI
ASIAIR Pro
WO Z61 Scope F6
Nikon D800(FF) or Nikon D3300(crop) Unmodified CMOS
30F4 Guide Scope
ASI120MC-S Guide camera