Svbony 305

signman

Svbony 305

Post by signman »

Hi All

Total newbie to astro photography so please bear with me, hence my purchase of a fairly low entry model in the shape of a Svbony 305 which I hope to use for planetary and moon.Scope is a Skywatcher Mak 127 on an EQ3-2 with RA motorised drive.
Having set up ok and everything looking good with Sharpcap, I read somewhere it would be good to do some terrestrial viewing to get familiar with the software.So, where I live its surrounded by trees in leaf and the most distant is only around 400m away. I focused on these trees with a 32mm plossl to get the range and dropped in the camera which gave me a very fuzzy and highly magnified image on my PC. Try as I might I cannot get a sharper image in view using the scopes focus nor the software, I tried lengthening the distance of the camera firstly from the star diagonal with a barlow with its lens removed then from the back of the scope nor to no avail having the camera directly into the back of the scope. Sharpcap seems to be working ok as I can get changes on the PC from the various functions.
So am I focussing on a subject that is too close and moving around in the wind, would I be better off waiting for a nighttime session? Am I missing something fundamental or is the camera a dud?
Thanks.
admin
Site Admin

Re: Svbony 305

Post by admin »

Hi,

I think your camera is probably okay and you are just having trouble getting it at the right distance to get good focus. If you are looking at relatively nearby objects then the camera needs to be further back from the telescope then it does when you are focusing on distant things like the stars. You will usually want the sensor of the camera to be somewhere (roughly) in the region of the shiny barrel part of an eyepiece that is in focus.