Atik Horizon

Noah4x4

Atik Horizon

Post by Noah4x4 »

I have been using this excellent CMOS camera for over 12 months on HyperStar for EAA using Atik Infinity software and have had no major issues with (say) vignetting or amp glow etc. However, my pals with the very similar ZWO ASI600 have been suggesting that the new feature in SharpCap embracing flats/darks on the fly is beneficial with this sensor. So I have paid my £10 and joined the SharpCap Pro brethren as Infinity software does not support this feature.

Today, I have been experimenting with SharpCap and despite my Atik requiring connectivity via ASCOM I really like what I am seeing, particularly since it appears that SharpCap also supports my MicroTouch auto-focusser when I thought that was only possible via the very expensive Maxim DL and SG Pro. Currently, its controller APP shares my screen with Infinity and integration of focusser control is a real bonus, if only to reduce screen clutter and improve navigation.

I have been experimenting for only a few hours and due to awful weather only indoors using both the Horizon and the 'Test camera 1 (deep sky)'. I have found SharpCap to be intuitive and fairly easy to pick up, albeit that my learning curve is more about the Interface rather than camera and software basics. However, it is an inevitable disadvantage that there is not more specific support for Atik cameras, but that isn't a barrier to me. I think I am working it all out OK

However, I thought I might open a new Forum topic for Atik Horizon and/or Infinity owners to exchange SharpCap tips and ideas. If anybody has any good stuff to contribute specifically about using SharpCap with the Atik Infinity I would be especially grateful. But I intend to be up to speed quickly in order to post my own findings of benefit to others that follow. But my first impressions are very good.

Phil
admin
Site Admin

Re: Atik Horizon

Post by admin »

Hi Phil,