No stars no first light

arrowspace90

No stars no first light

Post by arrowspace90 »

Last night I tried for the first time to set up my accumulated new rig. I have a Rasa 8, a EQ6R, and ZWO main and guide cams (533/290).

All of this stuff was powered on. I started SharpCap on the laptop and the program opened normally. SC "saw" both my cameras, so good! Thinking in terms of proceeding to focusing the cameras and attempting a polar alignment, I selected the guide cam.

I saw nothing but black. Uh-oh is this thing really turned on? It occurred to me that I might be badly out of focus (I have no experience with astro photography). So I moved the small guide cam back and forth in the barrel of the guide scope, hoping to see stars. But there was nothing but black.

I switched to the main cam. The ASI 533 has a square format and I saw this difference on the screen. But all was still black.

Ok, now I had NOT made any inputs to the camera settings. Without doing this, is it likely that I would see zero? I perhaps mistakenly thought that I would first see a blurry picture, then go to work on improving what I saw. Should I have instead began with some gain settings and exposure settings?
This newbie was clueless. If I try this in the daytime, should I at least see brightness? Blue or clouds? What do I need to type in?
admin
Site Admin

Re: No stars no first light

Post by admin »

Hi,

Basically you're facing the steepest part of the learning curve in astrophotography – getting your first image out requires you to get three things right at the same time – pointing the telescope in the right direction, focusing and camera settings. I would always suggest using the moon as the first target as it is big and bright and can make all three of these things easier (you have a good chance of seeing it on the camera even if your settings are wrong and you are out of focus – with stars you have to be close to focus and have decent settings to even see anything).