QHY 174GPS - What GPS? :)

Post Reply
Tiamat
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:48 pm

QHY 174GPS - What GPS? :)

Post by Tiamat » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:56 pm

Hello Dear All,
it is my first post here.
Best Regards from Cracow!
My Friend gave me for test his QHY 174 GPS.
My free version of SharpCap sees camera but not GPS panel.
What I am doing wrong?
Any help will be very appreciated !
Thank you
Michael Zolnowski

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: QHY 174GPS - What GPS? :)

Post by admin » Wed Jan 31, 2018 6:23 pm

Hi Michael,

did you switch the GPS control on in the controls on the right hand side? It is off by default. Turning it on should make the info window appear.

cheers,

Robin

Tiamat
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:48 pm

Re: QHY 174GPS - What GPS? :)

Post by Tiamat » Thu Feb 01, 2018 8:55 am

Dear Robin,
I do not see anything like "GPS on" option.
On right hand side I have: Capture Profiles, Camera Control, Image Control, Preprocessing, Display Control.
What maybe is important camera is shown as QHY Camera (Native WDM).
Is it proper mode for it?
I tried to switch between AVI and Fits formats but nothing changed.
No GPS mode or box.
Best Regards
Michael

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: QHY 174GPS - What GPS? :)

Post by admin » Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:35 pm

Hi,

you are using the camera via it's Webcam (DirectShow) driver, which does not support GPS. You should see the camera listed in the 'QHY Cameras' section of the cameras menu - select that option and you should see a lot more control options. Do make sure you are using an up to date version of SharpCap (3.0 or 3.1).

thanks,

Robin

Tiamat
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:48 pm

Re: QHY 174GPS - What GPS? :)

Post by Tiamat » Thu Feb 01, 2018 9:12 pm

Dear Robin,
it works!
I had to... change my computer.
It is something probably wrong with motherboard.
Now all functions started without problems.
Thank you! :)
Michael

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: QHY 174GPS - What GPS? :)

Post by admin » Thu Feb 01, 2018 10:50 pm

Hi,

maybe the USB3 ports? A lot of these USB3 cameras do not like VIA or Renesas USB controllers, particularly if they are listed as USB3 v0.97 controllers. Sometimes they work enough for the camera to be detected and then fail when transferring bulk frame data, sometimes they don't work at all.

cheers,

Robin

Tiamat
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:48 pm

Re: QHY 174GPS - What GPS? :)

Post by Tiamat » Fri Feb 02, 2018 7:38 am

Yeah? Yes, maybe this is the reason.
Thank you again!
:)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest