QHY268C - Always buffers 3 frames

AmargosaSky

QHY268C - Always buffers 3 frames

Post by AmargosaSky »

I have been using Sharpcap for about three months with no real issues, with an ASI294MC Pro. I recently got a QHY268C, and SharpCap always captures three frames in the background before eventually displaying the first frame, then second frame, so on... the counter in the lower right passes the initial exposure time and counts negative for the sum of the other two frames before the first frame appears. Then the counter behaves as intended, but the displayed image is always three subs "behind".

For short exposures like focusing or plate solving this isn't a big issue. However, for longer exposures (for example 5 min subs) this is detrimental because I have to wait 15 minutes to see the first 5min frame appear. Then, any changes I make require 15 more minutes (the 3x 5 subs buffered) to even see the first new frame. By then, it's time to focus again and so on... I've got some 10-30min sub projects planned, but they aren't feasible under these circumstances.

I've tried playing with the DDR buffer settings, USB speed slider, USB3 vs. USB2, but none seem to have an effect to get real-time image loading like I'm used to on the ASI294MC. I tried reinstalling the latest QHY drivers and that didn't have any effect. I tried the beta version of SC but that doesn't load the camera at all (different issue, but not central to this thread).

I am not sure if this is a QHY hw/settings issue or a SharpCap issue.

Has anyone else encountered this, and is there a solution? Thanks,

Jason
admin
Site Admin

Re: QHY268C - Always buffers 3 frames

Post by admin »

Hi,

try running the very latest beta of SharpCap 4.0 (https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap/sha ... s/4-0-beta) and also switching the 'Force Still Mode' control to 'On'.