QHY600L - Sensor Analysis Very Slow

MidnightLightning

QHY600L - Sensor Analysis Very Slow

Post by MidnightLightning »

Hi,

I just purchased Sharpcap Pro so am an absolute noob and am trying to run sensor analysis.

After a few issues initially it ran it for a few hours before it eventually failed with an error and I am now running it again. It does seem to be running at the moment but it is very slow.

The question is, should it take so long to run, I see the frame rate is only 0.1 FPS ?

I am finding when imaging with the ASCOM driver in SGPro downloads take around 15s but I'm not sure which driver it is using in Sharpcap. I cant remember what drivers I installed when I got the camera but it included the QHY All in One Driver and the ASCOM driver.

Any help would be appreciated.
admin
Site Admin

Re: QHY600L - Sensor Analysis Very Slow

Post by admin »

Hi,

the first thing to do is to take the sensor analysis out of the equation and to test the camera without it - use exposures between 0.01s and 1.00s (in 16 bit mode) and see what frame rates you get. You may need to adjust the 'USB Traffic' control down to increase the frame rate.

If you are getting decent frame rates (5+fps for short exposures, ~1fps for 1 second exposures), then try again. If it starts to run slowly again then look at the exposure - 0.1fps is OK if the exposure is 5-10 seconds, but sensor analysis should not go beyond 2s. Sometimes 0.1fps can be a sign that the camera has stopped responding (leave it long enough and it will drop to 0.0fps). Keep an eye on the frame counts in the bottom left.

Sensor analysis should usually take less than 5 minues.

cheers,

Robin
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Oh, one more thing...

you can usually increase the frame rate by using a smaller area for capturing (often called ROI - region of interest). Set the 'Capture Area' control to a smaller value - perhaps half the maximum in each direction.

Robin
turfpit

Post by turfpit »