QHY268C - Always buffers 3 frames

Jorike
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2021 11:16 pm

Re: QHY268C - Always buffers 3 frames

Post by Jorike »

I tell a lie,

Just noticed that I was using version 3.2.6383, now using version 3.2.6433.
So both of these work for me apart from the buffering.

Rik
User avatar
vichman
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:05 am

Re: QHY268C - Always buffers 3 frames

Post by vichman »

Is there a reason why you do not use the most recent version (3.2.6482)?
This has the most recent QHY SDK.

Also, when you installed the QHY SDK beta, did you replace the respective dll in the SharpCap folder? (this needs to be done manually)

CS
Stefan
Jorike
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2021 11:16 pm

Re: QHY268C - Always buffers 3 frames

Post by Jorike »

Hi,

I don't use the latest version because the camera doesn't function at all.
The frames just endlessly loop even after three capture lengths.
I have installed the 'allinone' SDK driver both manually and using the QHY install.
If I install manually SC doesn't recognise the camera at all and then I have to re-install SC and the QHY drivers.
I have also tried QHY's latest 'allinone' drivers and these don't work at all.
TBH I'm getting pretty sick of this camera, I just can't get it to work reliably.
I've had it replaced once as QHY said it was faulty but I'm still having the same issues.
I've tried four different PC's, and several different Capture Software.

Rik
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6400
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: QHY268C - Always buffers 3 frames

Post by admin »

Hi Rik,

did you try beta version 4.0 yet? I've made a lot of changes in that version for the newer QHY cameras. It works a lot better with my 294PROC than 3.2 did, so maybe it will help with the 268?

https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap/sha ... s/4-0-beta

Robin
User avatar
vichman
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:05 am

Re: QHY268C - Always buffers 3 frames

Post by vichman »

Hello Rik,

sorry to hear that you still have sever problems.
Just to be sure: In order for Sharpcap to use the latest QHY driver you need to replace the respective DLL in the SharpCap folder manually (unless you use a SharpCap version where Robin took care of that). Did you do that?

CS
Stefan
Jorike
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2021 11:16 pm

Re: QHY268C - Always buffers 3 frames

Post by Jorike »

Hi,
I'm in a situation now where nothing will recognise the camera via USB. Both the supplier and QHY are going to remotely log on and try to find out what's happening but I think yet again I have another duff QHY268C and will probably request a refund as I've been fighting to get the camera to work for nearly a year now with no success.
Many thanks for your advice though, I've tried pretty much everything I can from updating my bios, USB and Chipset drivers, Camera Drivers, several different versions of software, different ways of installing the drivers you name it, I've taken advice from other forums where people have had the same problems but the two QHY268C's I've had just don't work and I'm not prepared to pay £2k for a brick.

Rik
AmargosaSky
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 12:00 am

Re: QHY268C - Always buffers 3 frames

Post by AmargosaSky »

Jorike wrote: Wed Apr 14, 2021 10:29 pm Hi,
I'm in a situation now where nothing will recognise the camera via USB. Both the supplier and QHY are going to remotely log on and try to find out what's happening but I think yet again I have another duff QHY268C and will probably request a refund as I've been fighting to get the camera to work for nearly a year now with no success.
Many thanks for your advice though, I've tried pretty much everything I can from updating my bios, USB and Chipset drivers, Camera Drivers, several different versions of software, different ways of installing the drivers you name it, I've taken advice from other forums where people have had the same problems but the two QHY268C's I've had just don't work and I'm not prepared to pay £2k for a brick.

Rik
Rik - Out of curiosity, what us your wiring setup? My QHY268C issues still occur, but I was able to get it down to just 2 buffered frames when going direct USB3 (6ft to powered hub) to the camera (so another cable to drag), and raise the USB speed limit to at least 30.

Jason
Post Reply