No AVI option when selecting an ASCOM camera

Post Reply
jmgoldba
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:20 pm

No AVI option when selecting an ASCOM camera

Post by jmgoldba » Tue May 23, 2017 3:50 am

Why isn't there an option (v3906) to save in AVI format when I select an ASCOM camera?

Jesse
Attachments
NoAVIwithASCOM.png
NoAVIwithASCOM.png (72.01 KiB) Viewed 733 times

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: No AVI option when selecting an ASCOM camera

Post by admin » Tue May 23, 2017 8:02 am

Hi,

AVI only supports 8 bit colour depths. If your camera ASCOM driver is reporting a MaxADU of more than 255 then it has a sensor that has a larger bit depth than 8, so SharpCap cannot save the images it produces to AVI without data loss.

cheers,

Robin

iamhondo
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:27 pm

Re: No AVI option when selecting an ASCOM camera

Post by iamhondo » Mon Jun 10, 2019 7:21 pm

The ASCOM Camera V2 Simulator is fully configurable (like most ASCOM simulators).

For this application, you can test operations with an 8-bit simulated camera by going into the Simulator Setup screen. Just click Show on the Options in the Camera Control Panel under Camera Controls.

Inside the Simulator Setup, just set the Maximum ADU to 255 to give the 8-bit range 0-255. Then the Output Format drop-down will allow for AVI recording.

Nitpicky error report: SharpCap will allow you to record AVIs if the camera Maximum ADU is 256. But 8-bit range is 0-255. So ASCOM should prohibit AVI recordings if Maximum ADU is greater than 255.

It's not likely that a real camera will ever record in 257 colors (ie, Maximum ADU = 256) but this edge-condition error is probably easy to fix (says the person who doesn't need to fix it).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest