Easiest Plate solve program for non-computer guy to set up?

Anything that doesn't fit into any of the other forums
Post Reply
chongo228
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:34 am

Easiest Plate solve program for non-computer guy to set up?

Post by chongo228 » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:15 pm

About to take the plunge into plate solving and I have read a lot of bad things about AstroTortilla. Many people having issues getting it running and keeping it running. I also read in a forum that it isn't being supported anymore.

For a non computer guy that gets frustrated with drivers and program setup that is more than clicking the install button, what is the easiest of the 3 SharpCap supports? Astrotorilla, Ansvr, or All Sky Plate Solver? The less install time and possible errors/problems the better for me.

cuivenion
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: Easiest Plate solve program for non-computer guy to set up?

Post by cuivenion » Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:07 am

I found All Sky Plate Solver quite easy to set up up. Once you've installed the catalogues its pretty much automated from Sharpcap's side.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3162
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Easiest Plate solve program for non-computer guy to set up?

Post by admin » Fri Jan 19, 2018 7:43 pm

The problem with AstroTortilla is that you have to know which indices to install (or install the lot) and then make cryptic changes to the configuration otherwise it just doesn't work. SharpCap knows about the cryptic config requirements, so if you get it installed with the right indices then it should just work. The same applies for ASPS or AnSvr - they all use the same solving engine behind the scenes and SharpCap talks directly to that and *does not* use the UI or settings of ASPS/AnSvr/AstroTortilla.

cheers,

Robin

robrj
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 1:03 am

Re: Easiest Plate solve program for non-computer guy to set up?

Post by robrj » Sat Jan 20, 2018 5:27 pm

I can verify that Astrotortila just has to be installed. It works fine with my setup and Sharpcap.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest