Artificial light source or natural for sensor analysis?

Anything that doesn't fit into any of the other forums
Bikerdib

Artificial light source or natural for sensor analysis?

Post by Bikerdib »

Just joined the forum and I'm pretty new to AP. In fact, I do what I consider a cross between NRTV and actual AP. I am not opposed to doing longer subs if it can bring out more detail but I don't do any real post processing to saved images, just some color adjustment and contrast/brightness fine tuning. I may try using Autostakart in the future to post stack some saved individual fits files but so far I just do live stacking then saving the image.

I am wanting to use the sensor analysis feature but from what I've read on CN forum, it is supposed to be better to use natural light (diffused sunlight). I would like to do the analysis on my ASI224MC cool and QHY163 color cameras but have been under clouds for several days so it would give me something to do at night. Is light from a tungsten light bulb OK? My plan is to use a white plastic eyepiece barrel cap and maybe a white cloth till I get the correct amount of light on the sensor for whatever light source I use.

Also, I recently upgraded by buying the Pro license, any idea when 3.1 will be ready for general release?
Bikerdib

Re: Artificial light source or natural for sensor analysis?

Post by Bikerdib »

LOL, I guess I was really tired when I wroth the first post. I meant to say incandescent light bulb not tungsten.
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Hi,

here's what you need to know on light sources for sensor analysis - they need to be as steady as possible!

That means:

Daylight on a clear day with no clouds is good
Daylight on an overcast day with uniform cloud is good
Daylight on a partly cloudy day with clouds coming and going is bad as it could change during the measurement