how to get rid of GRID pattern on images ?

Anything that doesn't fit into any of the other forums
Zeeman Zeeforce

how to get rid of GRID pattern on images ?

Post by Zeeman Zeeforce »

Hello , I am very very new to this, I have a cheap 4" telescope and a SV305 Camera, I live in the polluted area of los angeles ! I took few pics
in both mono and color of jupitor and saturn, but I am still getting this kind of Grid pattern. also, on the colored ones I cannot seem to get any of sharpness or contrast correct. I tried All the programs recommended here and I just still cannot do it. Any advice on the grid pattern or fixing the colors would be greatly appreciated !

Zeeman
Attachments
Screenshot (114).png
Screenshot (114).png (659.49 KiB) Viewed 1365 times
Screenshot (117).png
Screenshot (117).png (690.86 KiB) Viewed 1365 times
Screenshot (118).png
Screenshot (118).png (662.81 KiB) Viewed 1365 times
SATURN ONE REGIX FINAL FINAL.jpg
SATURN ONE REGIX FINAL FINAL.jpg (20.03 KiB) Viewed 1365 times
JUPTIOR 1_pipp_STACK_PLUS rotated.tif
JUPTIOR 1_pipp_STACK_PLUS rotated.tif (43.51 KiB) Viewed 1365 times
JUPITOR 1.jpg
JUPITOR 1.jpg (21.87 KiB) Viewed 1365 times
JUPITOR 1 X.jpg
JUPITOR 1 X.jpg (24.02 KiB) Viewed 1365 times
admin
Site Admin

Re: how to get rid of GRID pattern on images ?

Post by admin »

Hi,

the Jupiter ones (with colour) just look like noise - stacking more frames or capturing at a lower gain (providing this does not push the exposure too long) can both help.

The Saturn image looks like you have not debayered the RAW source video (no colour and a grid/chessboard pattern). Check the debayer settings in your stacking application.

cheers,

Robin
ChrisR Oz

Post by ChrisR Oz »

Hi Zeeman,

Got the same thing in Registax on Saturn. Seemed to have debayering enabled (although Registax only use nearest neighbour).