Hi

Anything that doesn't fit into any of the other forums
Oakley Matt

Hi

Post by Oakley Matt »

I’m PRETTY new to astrophotography in an overall sense. I’m currently trying to expand my knowledge to begin capturing DSO’S.

I have a Celestron 8” SCT.

A few nights back I wanted to practise polar aligning by using Sharpcap, which after some faffing around was able to do.

A few nights later I wanted to try Plate Solving with Sharpcap. I got the following error - 'Failed to read xylist field'.

I went out again last night and got exactly the same error. On both nights of trying.

Any ideas why this please?
admin
Site Admin

Re: Hi

Post by admin »

Hi,

it could mean that there are no stars being found in the image by the plate solving application - a google search for the error message shows that it happens sometimes on the online astrometry.net server for images that look completely dark:

https://www.google.com/search?q="failed ... list+field"

If you look in the SharpCap log, you should see some messages from the plate solving engine before the error happens - probably something like this

Code: Select all

Info   	12:05:32.108260	#1 	Plate solving : Extracting sources...																					
Info   	12:05:32.219984	#1 	Plate solving : simplexy: found 20 sources.			
If you are getting no sources found (or less than about 15-20) then there is definitely a problem with star detection. Things you can try are

* Make the stars brighter - increase gain and/or exposure, and make sure that you have the display stretch set to default (no stretch) - otherwise the stretch can make the stars look visible to you on screen, but they will not be picked up by the plate solver.
* Reduce the value of the sigma parameter in the plate solving settings -this makes it more sensitive to faint stars.

hope this helps,

Robin
Oakley Matt

Post by Oakley Matt »

Hi Robin,