Page 1 of 1

64 bit vs 32 bit

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:00 pm
by Master Zerak
On the website it recommends 32 bit version for most users; but wouldn't 64 bit be faster/better?
I have a Dell XPS15-9570 with 16 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, etc

Re: 64 bit vs 32 bit

Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:20 pm
by admin
Hi,

The reason I don't recommend the 64 bit application for everyone is that there are a number of camera brands that don't have 64-bit support, meaning that users of those cameras would end up wondering why they didn't work if they install the 64-bit version. Additionally, the 32-bit version of SharpCap has advanced memory management built in that can access more than 4 GB of memory when using 64 bit Windows. This can be used to set up, for instance, a large memory cache to improve frame rates when capturing from high speed cameras.

Unfortunately some of the image processing techniques used in live stacking can't take advantage of the extra memory in the 32-bit version of SharpCap. That means that users who are live stacking with high resolution cameras (typically 10 megapixels up to 50 megapixels) may encounter out of memory errors in the 32-bit version especially if they use the advanced features in live stacking. These are the only users who will benefit by going to the 64-bit version.

Hope that helps, Robin

Re: 64 bit vs 32 bit

Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2019 10:25 pm
by donstim
I've wondered about this as well. What would be the result of an out of memory error? Would it cause SharpCap to crash, or display some sort of error message? In other words, how would one know if an out of memory error occurred?

Re: 64 bit vs 32 bit

Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 5:48 pm
by Master Zerak
Thanks for your explanation, Robin.

But since I have a ZWO ASI294 camera, and a laptop with a large amount of RAM and a fast processor, wouldn't it be better for me to install the 64 bit version?

I just don't understand why the 32 bit version would be better for me.

Thanks again,

Les

Re: 64 bit vs 32 bit

Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 5:50 pm
by Master Zerak
Actually, I have 32 GB of RAM...

Re: 64 bit vs 32 bit

Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 8:00 pm
by admin
Hi,

Yes, for you the 64-bit version would be fine and would probably be better than the 32-bit version.

My goal is to keep the number of confused people to a minimum – hence I recommend the 32-bit version in general.

Cheers, Robin