Autofocusing error

Anything that doesn't fit into any of the other forums
Post Reply
umasscrew39
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:28 pm

Autofocusing error

Post by umasscrew39 » Thu May 09, 2019 2:26 am

I have been using the Celestron autofocuser with no problem. Now, all I get is an error message when I try to do a single star focus using FWHM that says: NO PIXELS ARE ABOVE THE BLACK LEVEL - INCREASE EXPOSURE OR REDUCE THE BLACK LEVEL

I usually have been doing about a 5 or 10s exposure but regardless as to how high I increase the exposure (> 40s) or reduce the black level, nothing is changing. The error message remains. This just started a couple of nights ago. Before that, I never had this problem.

I also just noticed that none of the autofocus options are working but it says I am connected to the Celestron autofocuser.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2597
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Autofocusing error

Post by admin » Thu May 09, 2019 8:05 pm

Hi,

Perhaps you are a victim of a bit of confusion between different things all called 'black level'. The one that you should be trying to turn down as this one here.
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (11.23 KiB) Viewed 27 times
Hope this helps, Robin

umasscrew39
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:28 pm

Re: Autofocusing error

Post by umasscrew39 » Thu May 09, 2019 9:51 pm

Thanks- I was confused at first as I tried the "other" black level. I did reduce this one as well but the error existed. I'll try again and hopefully the problem will not persist.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests