Calibration Frames?

Anything that doesn't fit into any of the other forums
Post Reply
Neaptide
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:12 pm

Calibration Frames?

Post by Neaptide » Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:24 am

When using calibration frames while livestacking and saving individual frames for post processing later does Sharpcap apply the calibration frames to the individual raw frames that are being saved?

If this is the case, would I want to use dark and flat frames when stacking the calibrated individual raw frames in a program like DSS?

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3445
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Calibration Frames?

Post by admin » Mon Dec 10, 2018 7:47 pm

Hi,

if you choose to save the raw frames while live stacking then the saved images are not adjusted by any dark or flat frames in use – they are the image data that has come directly off of the camera itself. That means that if you choose to reprocess these images later in a program like deep sky stacker you should use calibration frames when processing.

Note that this is different behaviour in live stacking compared to normal capturing in SharpCap. If you are using the normal capture buttons to save videos or individual frames then the saved data does include dark and/or flat frame correction if it is enabled.

Hope this helps, Robin

Neaptide
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:12 pm

Re: Calibration Frames?

Post by Neaptide » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:03 pm

Thanks Robin!! That makes it perfectly clear and also explains why I have been reading conflicting reports.

Sharpcap Rocks!!! Keep up the good work.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests