Gamma setting gone

Anything that doesn't fit into any of the other forums
Post Reply
melvin
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:16 am

Gamma setting gone

Post by melvin » Mon May 07, 2018 1:33 pm

Hi I have the latest version of Sharpcap but I cannot find the Gamma setting anywhere. When I take videos of the Sun I have different settings for the surface and the proms, but the settings for Gamma seem to have disappeared, I have looked in all of the tabs down the right side of the screen, am I missing it somewhere. Please advise my.
Cheers
Melvin Atkins

User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Gamma setting gone

Post by turfpit » Mon May 07, 2018 2:37 pm

Melvin

Which camera are you using?

Dave

melvin
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:16 am

Re: Gamma setting gone

Post by melvin » Mon May 07, 2018 3:10 pm

Hi my camera is a ZWoASI 120mm.

cuivenion
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: Gamma setting gone

Post by cuivenion » Mon May 07, 2018 3:41 pm

ZWO have removed it in the latest SDK. Theres nothing Robin can do unless ZWO decide to put it back.

melvin
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:16 am

Re: Gamma setting gone

Post by melvin » Mon May 07, 2018 4:04 pm

Hi it was there until I downloaded the latest version of Sharpcap.

User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Gamma setting gone

Post by turfpit » Mon May 07, 2018 5:20 pm


Ben Cartwright SASS
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:58 pm

Re: Gamma setting gone

Post by Ben Cartwright SASS » Wed May 09, 2018 2:58 pm

This really upsets me as I use gamma to get total control of the surface of the sun. I use speed, gain, gamma and gamma makes the sun pop

I did some captures today in 3.1 so will process and see if I can get the same impact from 3.1 "raw" stuff vs. 3.0

I luckily didn't delete 3.0 and put in back on my desktop to use for solar. For DSO I never used gamma.

check out my shots of the sun at https://solarhead.shutterfly.com/

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1480
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Gamma setting gone

Post by admin » Wed May 09, 2018 5:39 pm

I've been told by other solar imagers too that they like to use Gamma. I'm afraid I don't understand the reason behind it being removed.

I do believe however that the gamma function offered is not a built in capability of the imaging sensors being used (for instance the Sony sensors used in the majority of CMOS cameras these days). That means that it is being added in software somewhere - whether that is on a processor running in the camera or in the PC itself. That in turn means that you should be able to get the same result with an appropriate non-linear stretch in post-processing (in theory...)

cheers,

Robin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest