Can't Plate Solve with Hyperstar

Anything that doesn't fit into any of the other forums
Post Reply
jimmyjames
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:53 pm

Can't Plate Solve with Hyperstar

Post by jimmyjames » Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:24 am

I just installed a Hyperstar unit on my telescope. After adding Hyperstar I have not been able to plate solve any target.

Do you have any hints or suggestions? And what information would be useful to help solve this issue.

Thank yo for your Help and Support.
James

BlackWikkett
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't Plate Solve with Hyperstar

Post by BlackWikkett » Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:51 am

Hi jimmyjames

Which plate solver were you using prior to Hyperstar installation? Have you updated your index files for the plate solver to include the wider field of view the Hyperstar provides? Assuming you're using a plate solver that has individual index files.

A relatively new plate solver addition to SharpCap is ASTAP found here https://www.hnsky.org/astap.htm This is by far one of the easiest installs and performance is 50% plus quicker than AstroTortill and All Sky Plate Solver (based on my observation) Suggest this if you just want it to work!

Hope this helps, Chris

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4467
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't Plate Solve with Hyperstar

Post by admin » Thu Jul 30, 2020 8:14 pm

Hi,

now that you are using a hyperstar, the field-of-view of each of your images will be much larger than it was before – you may need to go back to the set up for your plate solving application and install more data to cover the wider fields of view.

Cheers, Robin

jimmyjames
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:53 pm

Re: Can't Plate Solve with Hyperstar

Post by jimmyjames » Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:56 pm

I found the following in the Forum, which seems to imply that I can not change the FOV:


Re: Loading different astrotortilla settings files from within Sharpcap
Post by admin » Thu Mar 15, 2018 7:50 pm

Hi,

SharpCap completely ignores the AstroTortilla config when it does plate solving - basically it uses the plate solving engine that AstroTortilla installs, but passes its own set of options to that engine.

The only user configurable option for the plate solving is the 'sigma' parameter which controls star detection - high sigma values suppress noise (and small stars), so turn it down if you get too few and up if you get too many.

cheers,

Robin
Top

BlackWikkett
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't Plate Solve with Hyperstar

Post by BlackWikkett » Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:08 am

Hi Jimmy James,

The information you shard is true. You're not changing any FOV settings but have in effect changed the FOV of images captured with Hyperstar. You now need to make sure your AstroTortilla install has the correct index files to cover the wider FOV. You'll need to run the installer for AstroTortilla again and provide the new maximum and minimum FOV to the installer. This will then add the additional index files you need to allow plate solving for the wider FOV.

Have a look at this link for tutorial: https://www.lightvortexastronomy.com/tu ... lving.html

-Chris

Post Reply