GPCam not recognised in latest SharpCap

Discussion of features and issues relating to Altair Astro Cameras
macsmith
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 1:34 pm

Re: GPCam not recognised in latest SharpCap

Post by macsmith »

has this bug crept back into the code? Sharpcap v3.1.5181 recognises my gpcam but subsequent versions don't, with or without the SharpCap Pre-Requisites Installer.

I'm using windows 8.1, 64 bit.

Thanks

Ian
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5237
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: GPCam not recognised in latest SharpCap

Post by admin »

Hi Ian,

it's a glitch in the latest software from Altair that incorrectly fails to recognize some of the older GPCam models. Hopefully we will have a fix from them soon, but until then you need to use that older version of SharpCap to see early model GPCams.

cheers,

Robin
Mikeobrien
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2019 9:21 am

Re: GPCam not recognised in latest SharpCap

Post by Mikeobrien »

Will there ever be a fix so that i can use my MTGM034M GPCam in anything other than sharpcap3.0?
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5237
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: GPCam not recognised in latest SharpCap

Post by admin »

Hi,

as far as I'm aware this isn't likely to get fixed – I believe that changes made to support the new models have made the Altair software incompatible with the very oldest models. Unfortunately this isn't something I can fix in SharpCap itself.

Cheers, Robin
Post Reply