GPCAM dropping frames

Discussion of features and issues relating to Altair Astro Cameras
Post Reply
cuivenion
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:37 pm

GPCAM dropping frames

Post by cuivenion » Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:12 pm

Hi, I'm using the GPCAM v1. When using it in Sharpcap 2.9 and 2.10 it nearly always drops the first frame. This isn't a problem for video of course but I'm doing long exposure with it at the moment, 5-10 minutes.

I'm also wanting to dither between frames and the quickest way to do this is to do one capture of one image at a time, rather than a capture of several images and pausing to dither.

Of course if it's always dropping the first frame it's going to take me twice as long to get my subs. I have a feeling this could be just how the camera is but if you have any advice that would be great.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1889
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: GPCAM dropping frames

Post by admin » Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:51 pm

Hi,

I haven't seen that particular problem with the GPCAM, but the usual things to play with when dealing with dropped frames are check USB cables (use a short one for testing), try different USB ports and adjust the USB Speed parameter of the camera. If at all possible try a different PC too as a check - some USB chipsets seem happier with these cameras than others.

cheers,

Robin

cuivenion
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: GPCAM dropping frames

Post by cuivenion » Fri May 05, 2017 4:51 pm

Thanks for the reply. I'm using a different laptop now and the dropped frames doesn't seem to be as much of an issue. Still happens occasionally but there's no buffer on this cam.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest