Altair 183c TEC intermittent fan and cooling

Discussion of features and issues relating to Altair Astro Cameras
Post Reply
DanK
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:58 pm

Altair 183c TEC intermittent fan and cooling

Post by DanK »

The July 27th version of Sharpcap 4.0 both 32 bit and 64 bit has the fan and cooling go off and on.

Dan Kahraman
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7326
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Altair 183c TEC intermittent fan and cooling

Post by admin »

Hi Dan,

do you remember which version you upgraded from that worked before? And does it all work fine if you then go back to that previous version?

If we can track down which versions the problem was introduced between then I have a much better chance of understanding the cause.

cheers,

Robin

PS. Is your 12V supply working fine and the connection is good? An intermittent 12V supply could cause this sort of problem.
DanK
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:58 pm

Re: Altair 183c TEC intermittent fan and cooling

Post by DanK »

Hi Robin it worked in the June version although I would get video format not supported in the 64 bit version but no fan or cooling interruption issues. With the July 27th update I get no error messages in the 64 bit but the pulsing on off waves in the latest version of beta 4.0 (July 27th update).

Dan Kahraman
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7326
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Altair 183c TEC intermittent fan and cooling

Post by admin »

Hi Dan,

the only Altair update since June was a new SDK that came in with 4.0.7957.

Please go back to veersion 4.0.7944 and see if the problem goes away. If it does go away with 4.0.7944 and comes back when you try 4.0.7957 then we can be sure it is the SDK change and I can report the issue to Altair.

I have a 183C TEC here (actually a prototype one, but anyway), and I am not seeing any problems with the latest version. If you don't see things return to normal with 4.0.7944 then it could be a hardware issue that is new since June.

cheers,

Robin
Post Reply