Altair Hypercam 26C- My first CMOS Camera

Discussion of features and issues relating to Altair Astro Cameras
Brian1973

Altair Hypercam 26C- My first CMOS Camera

Post by Brian1973 »

I have been imaging for about two years using the Canon T6I. I decided to transition to a dedicated astro-camera and purchased the Altair Hypercam 26C.

Although I have reviewed all the documents on the Altair site regarding the use of a CMOS camera and have been watching many Youtube video's (mainly by Dr. Robin Glover) I find that I have many questions.

I received the camera about three weeks ago and haven't had much of a chance to use it because I live in Oregon where the haze, heat and smoke has wreaked havoc on imaging opportunities.

Questions-
1) What is ultra low mode and what purpose does it serve?

2) Should I shoot in Ultra low mode all the time?

3) The hypercam 26c offers 8 and 16 bit depth, is there a selection for 12 bit depth?

4) Are there any scenarios or reasons to shoot in a lower bit depth than 16?

5) How does Gain and Exposure Length intersect?

6) Many people attest there is no longer a need to take dark frames, flats and bias with this camera. Is this true?

7) Are there periodic firmware or other updates that I need to do? If so, where are these located?

8) Any other information or resources that are helpful with learning how to use this camera?

Thanks

Brian
admin
Site Admin

Re: Altair Hypercam 26C- My first CMOS Camera

Post by admin »

Hi Brian,

1) What is ultra low mode and what purpose does it serve?

ULN mode reduces (by about 10% or so) the amount of electronic read noise that gets into every image from the camera electronics.

2) Should I shoot in Ultra low mode all the time?