my camera SV503 Cannot see planet in Sharpcap !

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
Zeeman Zeeforce

my camera SV503 Cannot see planet in Sharpcap !

Post by Zeeman Zeeforce »

Hello everyone, I appreciate if anyone can help me, I am very frustrated !

I have an Svbony SV305 Camera and a cheap telescope Celestron 102GT 4" 102mm, and when I use my camera on Jupiter or Saturn I only get a black image ! I can see the moon ok thru my telescope and sharpcap ( it looks green and huge , probably over exposed ), but when I center and focus Jupiter or saturn with my 25mm eyepiece and then I remove the eyepiece and insert my SV305 Camera, I only see black on the screen. NO planet , no light, no nothing !! ... I am very new to astrophotography and sharpcap ! Is there something in the software I need to turn on like gamma, or saturation, or any of those many settings ?? I am just very frustrated because I know the object is in the view of my telescope and I know by SV305 works because I can see the moon with it. But sharpcap does not see Jupiter or Saturn. I know the SV305 ccd is sensitive enough to pick up faint light through the telescope, but I am just surprised all I see is a BLACK IMAGE in sharpcap. ANY advice is Greatly appreciated. I am on a budget and I waited years to get into astrophotography .. so this is Very Frustrating ! PLEASE HELP. Any suggestion you throw at me I will try ! Thank You for your Help.
Menno555

Re: my camera SV503 Cannot see planet in Sharpcap !

Post by Menno555 »

Hello

Like you already noticed, there are a lot of settings and in the beginning that can be somewhat overwhelming :)
But experiment a lot and you will get to know it all.