Can't get rid of offset

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
dkoschny

Can't get rid of offset

Post by dkoschny »

Hi, I am new to SharpCap. Have played with it a bit using it with my QHY178 GPS. It is the only tool which gives me the full speed performance. BUT: After some initial grabbing I must have set something wrongly - I always have an offset of about half way to maximum brightness in my images, making the background very bright and contrast bad. I checked the 'offset' but it is at 0. So all good. What else could be wrong?

I checked the camera with FireCapture, there the image is great, with black background. So its not the camera (but there I don't get the frame rate - so I do prefer SharpCap :-)

I went through the user manual, I did search the FAQs, but couldn't find anything.

I am sure this is something silly, but I would appreciate any help.

tx Detlef
admin
Site Admin

Re: Can't get rid of offset

Post by admin »

Hi,

can you share a screenshot showing the image displayed along with the histogram and the major camera controls - there will probably be something obvious as you say, but it's going to be easiest to spot that from a screenshot. I do wonder if you have used the display histogram stretch to brighten the mid tones and shadows and forgotten to cancel it (https://docs.sharpcap.co.uk/3.2/#!2!Min ... %20Stretch)

cheers,

Robin
dkoschny

Post by dkoschny »