how to capture multi darks in sharpcap to stacks in deep sky stacker.

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
The dude

how to capture multi darks in sharpcap to stacks in deep sky stacker.

Post by The dude »

Frustrated newbie here,

camera setting is raw 16 bit. save as fits file.

1.) How to take multi darks in SC

I have read other posts and it said to take the darks as a regular capture. I have done that, and when I check the sharp cap capture file, they are not there. If I use the SC darks tool, it creates one master dark that will not open. I can see the master dark in FITS avis but thats all I can do with it.

If I find out how to open the master dark, A.) will deep sky stacker be able to stack frames with one master dark? How do I set that in deep sky stacker.

I know deep sky stacker will stack and clean multi darks I did it hundreds of times with my DSLR.

final comment

I think my issue is linked to using the fits file format. If I change to tiff what settings should I use

The dude
admin
Site Admin

Re: how to capture multi darks in sharpcap to stacks in deep sky stacker.

Post by admin »

Hi,

first, the infallible way to locate where your saved images are in SharpCap...

After each capture (either saving a frame in FITS/TIFF/PNG or saving a video in AVI/SER), SharpCap displays a notification bar which tells you where the file was saved.
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (34.62 KiB) Viewed 521 times
The blue text in the notification is a clickable link - click on the file name and SharpCap will open that saved file in whatever the default viewer application is for the file type. Click on the folder name a little further to the left and SharpCap will open the folder that the file was saved into in Windows Explorer.