Plate solve troubles

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
astrorunner

Plate solve troubles

Post by astrorunner »

Hi Robin!

First, just want to say I love your software. I have been a SharpCap pro user for a couple years now. I feel it is worth every penny and I am very happy that you will interact with us users to help as well!

The plate solver is something I really really want to get working as trying to get my SkyX sync'd up is terribly challenging right now with my Celestron C9.25. I am just shooting at prime focus with a T-adapter, ASI-294, no reducer right now. Focal length is 2350 mm. My FOV is about 28x19 arc minutes. Often my stars are bloated or seem slightly fuzzy with this FOV and scope, but scope has been well collimated and others have looked at it and I don't think there is anything wrong there. However, plate solvers like Astrometry or the one PixInsight uses seem to struggle with images from this scope (with lenses, no problem).

Having said that, I'd really like to get this working if at all possible. I'm attaching a screen shot of my current settings. I downloaded All Sky Plate Solver and also the H18 star database. I see no errors when I run it, but it identifies 0 stars each time. It successfully communicates with my Orion Atlas Pro mount (I can move the mount using ShapCap controls).

Please advise some things to try, and if you need log screen shots or anything else please let me know how to grab those and I will send!

Thanks again SO MUCH,
Bert Herald (Natural Bridge, Virginia)
Attachments
Example FOV with C9.25 setup
Example FOV with C9.25 setup
_00001.jpg (838.25 KiB) Viewed 1245 times
SharpCap platesolve settings
SharpCap platesolve settings
settings platesolve.png (166.42 KiB) Viewed 1245 times
astrorunner

Re: Plate solve troubles

Post by astrorunner »