Multistar FWHM and full-Moon sky brightness

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
Anthony Quintile

Multistar FWHM and full-Moon sky brightness

Post by Anthony Quintile »

I am new to auto-focusing, so please feel free to offer any otherwise obvious advice.

I was using the Multistar FWHM measurement and frequently getting 20.00 as the FWHM measurement, and today found this quote from another post:

"The value of 20 that you see for the multi-star option is generated when not enough stars are detected to give a meaningful average. If you are seeing that frequently then you should adjust your star detection settings to try to increase the number of stars being picked up by the measurement routine."

I am guessing that attempting to get a good number of measurable stars with a brightly lit sky from the full-Moon, (when I like to learn how to run new equipment since I shoot unfiltered OSC), is going to be much harder than when I have a dark sky?

Generally I was getting inconsistent FWHM measurements with a lot of frames not being used, (I was also experimenting with the single star FWHM function). Is it safe to attribute this to the bright sky?

I was adjusting the black level and other tools, but somewhat haphazardly in an effort to gain some understanding of the functions, but I wasn't getting much difference in results.

Any advice appreciated. I can elaborate on equipment if necessary...
admin
Site Admin

Re: Multistar FWHM and full-Moon sky brightness

Post by admin »

Hi,

here are my suggestions for how to set up the star detection and other parameters :