Image cuts-off at top while Live Stacking

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
snubem

Image cuts-off at top while Live Stacking

Post by snubem »

I have an 8" SCT on a CGEMII. Live stacking, 5sec/frame with Flats and Darks applied. I roughly polar align the mount (due to living downtown Chicago and very few stars) and GoTo aligned with StarSense.
In the attached pic you can see the image cutting off at the top during LiveStacking and even more as time goes by.
I'm new to the CGEM II (I had the Evolution 8) and hoping you can help me stop the cut-off from occurring.
Thank you,
Greg
Attachments
SC Frame Cutoff1.JPG
SC Frame Cutoff1.JPG (818.41 KiB) Viewed 2379 times
BlackWikkett

Re: Image cuts-off at top while Live Stacking

Post by BlackWikkett »

Was this live stacked? If so were you guiding and dithering? This looks a lot like dithering with setting very high that caused a very large dithering offset. Could also be simple drift and stacking is compensating with the result you see.
snubem

Post by snubem »

Live Stacking. I do not guide. I don't know what dithering is?
Is it because I'm not polar aligned?
I'm only doing 5secs/frame. Would increasing that time help?
What can I do to stop the "simply drift effect"?

Thanks
Greg
turfpit

Post by turfpit »

Greg

No guiding, no dithering leaves alignment. The only way you will get away with a rough polar align is if you guide.