Very poor stacking results...

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
descott12

Very poor stacking results...

Post by descott12 »

Hello,
I am pretty new to SharpCap and I have seen alot of posts with some amazing EAA images with very short exposures. Unfortunately, I am not having much luck. I am using a Evo 8 with a new Hyperstar 4 and and ASI 294 MC cooled camera. So I would expect much better results. I have posted three screenshots and I am sure hoping somebody can assist.

M31 - All I get is a blurry core. No improvement in stacking at all. The stacked view is not much better than the individual frames and it never gets better than this image. 3.5 minutes of exposure.

M42 Just a horrible muddy mess with only the very core. Usually that is pretty blown out and over-exposed in good photos but it is also usually surrounded by amazing nebulosity. I can't seem to pull out much nebulosity at all. Same with M45 below and in the outer parts of M31 above. There seems to be a common theme in my problems...

M45 - Never improves beyond just the basic stars. Mostly monochrome. No hint of blue. No nebulosity at all. I made a previous post about the Live Stack being all monochrome. It was suggested to up the right-most slider in the histogram. While that worked in some cases, it mostly just put a sickly green hue over most images. And it didn't help to reveal any blue in the stars or the surrounding nebulosity.