Newbie "fits" question

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
Rfi

Newbie "fits" question

Post by Rfi »

Hi,
I've been using SharpCap for about 6 months and have found it really useful. I'm a retired Lecturer / Professional Engineer, and have some background in Astronomy and Computing. My question concerns some fundamental concepts associated with the fits files saved from the SharpCap "Live Stacking" function. I append some images:

* Image A is a jpg of the png from SharpCap.
* Image B is a jpg of the 32 bit file from SharpCap as portrayed on "Irfanview" (one of the "normal" image viewers that handles fits).
* Image C is a jpg of the same 32 bit file as seen on "avisFT" (a fits viewer that I am trying out).
* Image D is a jpg of the same 32 bit file with the white threshold altered.

Using image A as a reference point being comparable to what I observed in the sky, my questions are these:

1 I can see that image B is vertically flipped, but why is the default rendering so different from image A ?

2 I can see how image B becomes image C, but why are the 4 stars from A portrayed as discs, whereas most of the remaining features are arcs? (I can appreciate that the 4 stars were "locked on to" by SharpCap, but why are the arcs even visible when they are invisible on A? And how can SharpCap generate a visible background between the "locked stars", such as a deep sky object, if non locked entities are permitted to rotate on the image?

3 You will note that 4 stars are circled in red on D. These correspond to stars identified on planetarium software, but which I do not believe were visible by eye at the time of capture. Why are these discs, rather than arcs, and how can one make more arcs become discs?