Practise plate solving

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Post Reply
Daryl
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 10:42 pm

Practise plate solving

Post by Daryl » Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:18 am

How can I practice plate solving using SharpCap test camera 1 (deep sky) or one my recent star images? I need a few dummy runs to feel confident before actual use. Being in the southern hemisphere aligning the EQ mount to the celestial south pole can at times be difficult but if I can use plate solving after a rough alignment using just true south and the latitude, could get me around this error. Can someone point me in the right direction with practice?

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5150
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Practise plate solving

Post by admin » Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:49 pm

Hi,

you can use the ASCOM Simulator mount to do this - basically all you need to do is select the simulator mount, connect it and then adjust the position to be within 15 degrees (RA & Dec) of the image being used in the test camera before trying to plate solve.

cheers,

Robin

Daryl
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 10:42 pm

Re: Practise plate solving

Post by Daryl » Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:27 am

Hi Robin,
I'm still stuck on base 1. How do I connect to Telescope Simulator for.NET (selected in SharpCap: File, settings, hardware, mounts) then to plate solve when getting the following statement "plate solve failed. Only one star etc".
Still need directions to proceed further.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5150
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Practise plate solving

Post by admin » Thu Oct 25, 2018 3:28 pm

Hi Daryl,

configuring a mount - https://docs.sharpcap.co.uk/3.2/#Hardware%20Tab - please make sure you have ASCOM platform installed.

Make sure the connected option is ticked once camera started - https://docs.sharpcap.co.uk/3.2/#Mount%20Control

If not enough stars deteced, try lowering the sigma option in the plate solve settings - https://docs.sharpcap.co.uk/3.2/#Plate%20Solving%20Tab

Hope this helps get you going,

Robin

Post Reply