Question about the Smart Histogram (The Brain)

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3709
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Question about the Smart Histogram (The Brain)

Post by admin » Fri Feb 28, 2020 9:14 pm

Hi,

With regard to the question about the gain, SharpCap tends to use a high gain when doing the sky background measurements to keep the exposure times as short as possible and therefore finish the procedure quickly. Fortunately the sensor analysis procedure allows SharpCap to calculate the actual e/ADU values for various different camera gain settings, so it's possible to work backwards from the ADU readings to the number of electrons at any specific gain value.

There isn't an alternative or expanded graph available inside SharpCap to show more detail or more range on the detection threshold plot, but all of the calculations that the smart histogram brain uses are documented in this forum thread - viewtopic.php?f=35&t=456 - so if you wanted you could put together something like an Excel spreadsheet and create your own graphs from it.

Cheers, Robin

tmyers
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2020 2:49 pm
Location: Dayton, OH, USA

Re: Question about the Smart Histogram (The Brain)

Post by tmyers » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:03 am

I have an ASI 1600 MC Cool, I was assuming he data for this camera was already in Sharp Cap, but it must not be because Histogram Brain does not show up on my screen.

Is this a file I need to download and place within SC or do I need to perform my own sensor analysis, in order for the brain to appear?
Tim

EXOS-2GT
SkyWatcher 100ED PRO
ASI 1600MC Cool

BlackWikkett
Posts: 295
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Question about the Smart Histogram (The Brain)

Post by BlackWikkett » Thu Mar 26, 2020 5:39 pm

I think you'll need to create the sensor analysis yourself. Only 1600 mono 8 and 16 bit is included in the sensor library.

-Chris

tmyers
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2020 2:49 pm
Location: Dayton, OH, USA

Re: Question about the Smart Histogram (The Brain)

Post by tmyers » Thu Mar 26, 2020 5:44 pm

Thanks
Tim

EXOS-2GT
SkyWatcher 100ED PRO
ASI 1600MC Cool

Tailspin45
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 7:17 pm

Re: Question about the Smart Histogram (The Brain)

Post by Tailspin45 » Sat Mar 28, 2020 6:02 pm

The sensor library includes my SV-305. If I run a sensor analysis myself, which data does SmartBrain use? Can I force it to use one or the other?

BlackWikkett
Posts: 295
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Question about the Smart Histogram (The Brain)

Post by BlackWikkett » Sat Mar 28, 2020 6:29 pm

I've completed my own sensor analysis for the ZWO 294 and it would use this over the one in the library. Robin will have to chime in but from my experience the one user made overrides. If you want to switch back to the provide analysis you'll have to manually remove the one you create.
-Chris

Tailspin45
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 7:17 pm

Re: Question about the Smart Histogram (The Brain)

Post by Tailspin45 » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:42 pm

BlackWikkett wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 6:29 pm
If you want to switch back to the provide analysis you'll have to manually remove the one you create.
Thanks, Chris. I've rummaged around and tried to find the sensor analysis I created without success. Any idea where it might be hiding?

User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 1034
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Question about the Smart Histogram (The Brain)

Post by turfpit » Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:15 pm

Have a look in

C:\Users\<your user name>\AppData\Roaming\SharpCap

Note it is a hidden folder so uncheck Hidden Items in File Explorer.

Dave

Tailspin45
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 7:17 pm

Re: Question about the Smart Histogram (The Brain)

Post by Tailspin45 » Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:17 pm

turfpit wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:15 pm
C:\Users\<your user name>\AppData\Roaming\SharpCap
<slaps forehead>Well, duh!

Thanks!

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3709
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Question about the Smart Histogram (The Brain)

Post by admin » Sun Mar 29, 2020 11:30 am

Hi,

Yes, all the information above is correct – if you've done your own analysis then the results from that will get used in preference to any data that installs with SharpCap. Deleting your own analysis file as Dave suggests will put SharpCap back to using the installed data (I would suggest closing and reopening SharpCap too, just to make sure).

Cheers, Robin

Post Reply