Can SC Reticle imaging digital Finder be Adjusted to......

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Post Reply
GaryS
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:18 pm
Location: Boston, USA/Jackson Hole, USA

Can SC Reticle imaging digital Finder be Adjusted to......

Post by GaryS » Thu Feb 13, 2020 1:21 am

.....align the digital finder with the OTA EAA viewing camera?

Hi,
I'm going to be mounting an ASI 290, equipped with a 12mm F1.2 CS lens, to my OTA to act as a wide FOV digital finder (and to track approaching or passing clouds). If the dovetail bracket that holds the finder/ camera has no adjust-ability, is there a way to adjust the SC reticle to align the finder camera with the OTA camera doing the viewing?

thanks for your help!
Gary

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3541
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Can SC Reticle imaging digital Finder be Adjusted to......

Post by admin » Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:24 pm

Hi,

You could adjust the reticule position once to align with the centre of view of your main telescope, but unfortunately the position isn't saved when you close and reopen SharpCap, so you would have to do that for each imaging session.

All is not quite lost though – you could put the ZWO cameras into a lower resolution mode (perhaps 800x800), then move around the ROI selection until the centre of the image that you see coincides with the centre of view in your main telescope. Then save the capture profile with those settings for the resolution and ROI position and set it as default so it will load each time you open the ZWO 290 camera. With the camera setup like that the default centred position of the reticule should align with the main telescope every time.

Cheers, Robin

GaryS
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:18 pm
Location: Boston, USA/Jackson Hole, USA

Re: Can SC Reticle imaging digital Finder be Adjusted to......

Post by GaryS » Fri Feb 14, 2020 12:35 am

Hi Robin and thank you.

Two methods to try is great.
Can you tell me how to move and align the reticle in the first method?

In the second method, I gather that I center the 290’s SC reticle once and it stays in the preset. Is there a way to then regain the full resolution of the 290 after aligning the reticle to the main OTA?

Is this topic covered somewhere in the manual? Couldn’t find it associated with the menu/reticle info.
Regards
Gary

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3541
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Can SC Reticle imaging digital Finder be Adjusted to......

Post by admin » Fri Feb 14, 2020 7:36 pm

Hi,

The reticule position can be easily adjusted by clicking anywhere in the image which will re-centre the reticule to the point that you have clicked on.

The point of the second idea was to leave the resolution and the position of the ROI set such that the centre of the image would match the centre of your main telescope – if you put the camera back to full resolution then you would lose that alignment.

Cheers, Robin

GaryS
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 5:18 pm
Location: Boston, USA/Jackson Hole, USA

Re: Can SC Reticle imaging digital Finder be Adjusted to......

Post by GaryS » Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:15 pm

Thank you Robin. I will try both approaches.
Gary

Post Reply