Did you know? You can install more than one version of SharpCap

Somewhere to share your expertise in using SharpCap
Post Reply
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2078
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Did you know? You can install more than one version of SharpCap

Post by admin » Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:15 pm

If you want to test out the latest beta versions of SharpCap but are concerned about bugs while imaging, don't worry. You can install different versions of SharpCap on the same computer and then run whichever version you want without worrying about them interfering with each other or causing other problems.

Basically, each major version of SharpCap (2.8, 2.9, 2.10 etc) acts as a separate program so you can have them installed side-by-side. You can't however install two different updates of the same version (ie 2.9.3032 and 2.9.3055) at the same time - when you install a new update of SharpCap it will replace any existing install with the same major version number.

cheers,

Robin

User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Did you know? You can install more than one version of SharpCap

Post by turfpit » Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:11 pm

Robin

Would there be any danger of driver downgrades if installing say v2.10 and then v2.9 or is each major version self contained?

Dave

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2078
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Did you know? You can install more than one version of SharpCap

Post by admin » Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:31 pm

Each version has its own self-contained versions of the camera SDK, so they won't interfere with each other.

cheers,

Robin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest