Live Stack Histogram

Got an idea for something that SharpCap should do? Share it here.
Forum rules
'+1' posts are welcome in this area of the forums to indicate your support for a particular feature suggestion. Suggestions that get the most +1's will be seriously considered for inclusion in future versions of SharpCap.
Post Reply
donboy
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 1:57 am

Live Stack Histogram

Post by donboy » Tue May 29, 2018 5:06 am

Robin,

We sorely need a logarithm feature for the Live Stack histogram. It is extremely difficult to adjust the sliders. The shift slow motion controls are nice but not cutting it for adjusting the sliders when they are very close to each other. Also detaching each of the sliders from each other would also be a big benefit.

Don

Astrogate
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:52 pm

Re: Live Stack Histogram

Post by Astrogate » Tue May 29, 2018 6:33 am

I am fully 100% with Don on these requests Robin and it would make adjusting the live histogram so much easier.

Chris A

pjwack
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:52 pm

Re: Live Stack Histogram

Post by pjwack » Thu May 31, 2018 11:30 am

+1

mAnKiNd
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY
Contact:

Re: Live Stack Histogram

Post by mAnKiNd » Thu May 31, 2018 12:15 pm

Guys, correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't there a second histogram display on the right panel that is logarithmic? I use that side by side to gauge my adjustments in the live stack histogram window..

Hope this helps
Minos

donboy
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 1:57 am

Re: Live Stack Histogram

Post by donboy » Thu May 31, 2018 3:23 pm

Minos,

The Display Histogram adjustments cannot be saved as viewed. The only histogram adjustments that can be saved as viewed is the Live Stacking and it sorely needs a logarithmic function.

Don

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3289
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Live Stack Histogram

Post by admin » Thu May 31, 2018 4:00 pm

I think the request here is for the *horizontal* scale to be logarithmic (correct me if I'm wrong) so that it is easier to adjust the black/mid level positions.

I have written code for 3.2 that allows saving with the display stretch applied, although this will get you saved images with a bit depth of 8 because by the point in the code where the display stretch is applied we drop down from any deeper bit depths to 8 bits per channel for display.

cheers,

Robin

donboy
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 1:57 am

Re: Live Stack Histogram

Post by donboy » Thu May 31, 2018 4:05 pm

Horizontal scale is correct. And please if you can detach the black from the mid and the mid from the white that would be very helpful.

Don

Astrogate
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:52 pm

Re: Live Stack Histogram

Post by Astrogate » Thu May 31, 2018 5:24 pm

Robin, It is good that you have written a code for the upcoming 3.2 to save the display histograms setting but in 8 bits only. I would prefer to save my images using the full 12 bits from my ASI cameras. ** I current use the display histogram as a "display only" when I adjust the live histograms points and this makes it much easier to see if I am clipping the black or setting the gamma & white to much. The problem is when adjusting the live histogram the peak is way too narrow making the black and gamma too hard to grab for adjustments esp. since the black and gamma are connected. Adding a log box for selecting in order to spread the live histogram wider would make it so much easier to adjust plus detaching the points so the move as individuals would be much easier and one could manually adjust the points with more control. This way using the live histogram and save as viewed would allow for saving as a png in 12 to 16 bit format. Thank you!

Chris A

dts350z
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 6:00 am

Re: Live Stack Histogram

Post by dts350z » Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:46 am

I think the output is actually 16 bits on the wire. Yeah there are only 12 bits worth of values, but they arrive from the camera as 16bits.

In the ASCOM driver, your choices are RAW16 or RAW8.

Maybe the WDM is different?

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3289
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Live Stack Histogram

Post by admin » Fri Jun 01, 2018 8:56 pm

Depends on the model of camera - for instance the Sony 178 sensor has a 14 bit ADC, but the 174 has a 12 bit ADC. SharpCap always pushed the data up to the full 16 bits if it is 10/12/14 bit to avoid saving images that look too dim when reloaded.

Of course, with live stacking there will be more bits of data as a number of frames are averaged.

cheers,

Robin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests