Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Got an idea for something that SharpCap should do? Share it here.
Forum rules
'+1' posts are welcome in this area of the forums to indicate your support for a particular feature suggestion. Suggestions that get the most +1's will be seriously considered for inclusion in future versions of SharpCap.
galljj
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:14 pm

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by galljj » Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:12 pm

Last questions.

Do you use in live view mode? I did not, so the image refreshes every x seconds.

Is live stacking enabled? I was only able to test inside. And weather Is uncooperative of late. Will become more so today - new scope being delivered!

Great stuff

John

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3186
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by admin » Tue Aug 21, 2018 3:17 pm

Hi,

I have not tried live view really, so who knows if that works :) With non-live view you'll notice the exposure is taken then after it finishes it takes a few seconds for the SharpCap display to update - that's because the download from the camera take time, then the DSLR driver has to read the RAW file that was downloaded.

Live stacking should work, but I have only tested inside too, so not really sure!

Hope the new scope arrived safe and sound!

Robin

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3186
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by admin » Wed Aug 22, 2018 9:06 pm

Hi,

I have updated the trial version of the ASCOM driver again this evening - same download link : http://downloads.sharpcap.co.uk/downloa ... m%20Driver

I have also uploaded an updated SharpCap 3.2 beta build which should further improve experience with the ASCOM driver (3.2.5718).

In particular, using the two new versions together should mean:

* Only one trial exposure taken to identify the camera properties, not 3
* Driver should continue and work after the initial trial exposure, should no longer crash the first time then work after that
* Display of the Gain (ISO) control in SharpCap is logarithmic, so easier to adjust

cheers,

Robin

cuivenion
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by cuivenion » Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:09 pm

I'm getting an error after clicking ok on the ascom gui in sharpcap:

Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

It keeps occuring and it prevents the camera from opening. I've tried restarting both Sharpcap and the camera but it hasn't solved the problem.

cuivenion
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by cuivenion » Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:29 pm

Heres a screenshot:
Error1.jpg
Error1.jpg (117.77 KiB) Viewed 1156 times

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3186
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by admin » Thu Aug 23, 2018 5:34 pm

Ah yes, I see - I have made a change and uploaded a new version (same download link) that should fix that particular problem.

cheers,

Robin

cuivenion
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by cuivenion » Thu Aug 23, 2018 5:41 pm

Quick work! I'll check it out.

cuivenion
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by cuivenion » Thu Aug 23, 2018 6:32 pm

I still had the same error the first time I tried to connect. I restarted Sharpcap and the camera connected but I got a new error. COMM_PORT_IS_IN_USE. I've tried changing the usb port but it hasn't helped.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3186
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by admin » Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:09 pm

COMM_PORT_IS_IN_USE is what you get when another program is already talking to the camera - could be a crashed/hung SharpCap that is still running in the background (I've seen that a few times). I've also sometimes had to unplug camera, turn off, turn back on, reconnect.

Also remember to check you are in 'M' mode and manual focus too.

cheers,

Robin

cuivenion
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by cuivenion » Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:56 pm

Hi, I will give it another go. I'm in manual mode but I have no lens fitted, so I can't select manual focus.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest