ROI

Got an idea for something that SharpCap should do? Share it here.
Forum rules
'+1' posts are welcome in this area of the forums to indicate your support for a particular feature suggestion. Suggestions that get the most +1's will be seriously considered for inclusion in future versions of SharpCap.
Post Reply
Bert
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:47 am

ROI

Post by Bert » Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:54 am

Hello,

it would be very helpfull for planetary imaging to scan only a part of the imager. That would reduce the avi size and makes it easier to use the files in registax for example. Bert

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: ROI

Post by admin » Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:01 pm

Hi Bert,

you can do this already for most cameras - see http://docs.sharpcap.co.uk/2.9/#!2!Capt ... and%20Area and look at the 'Capture Area' and 'ROI Position' controls. Doing this usually improves the frame rate too.

cheers,

Robin

sikd
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 4:05 pm

Re: ROI

Post by sikd » Mon May 08, 2017 4:12 pm

It would nice to have this option for webcams

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: ROI

Post by admin » Mon May 08, 2017 6:09 pm

Some webcams do support this in a rather roundabout way. For instance with the Microsoft LifeCam Cinema (and maybe other Microsoft cameras) you select a smaller capture area and then turn up the Zoom all the way to maximum and you get an ROI. This is a built in feature of the camera.

Unfortunately these cameras don't report the correct range for the pan/tilt controls that allow you to move the selected area around, so adjusting the position can be fiddly.

cheers,

Robin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests