Messier 27: A SharpCap-PixInsight Combination

A place to share images that you have taken with SharpCap.
Forum rules
Please upload large images to photo sharing sites (flickr, etc) rather than trying to upload them as forum attachments.

Please share the equipment used and if possible camera settings to help others.
umasscrew39

Messier 27: A SharpCap-PixInsight Combination

Post by umasscrew39 »

I'm just learning PI but it compliments SC very well in that SC gives great live views and then PI can be used for some post processing.

This was taken with a ZWO ASI294 MC cooled camera on a C11" using the new Optolong L-eNhancer filter. Gain was 300 and exposure was 60s. This was a stack of 65.

Image below was taken with 97% moon illumination with below average transparency and average seeing in a Bortle 5/6 area.
Messier 27.jpg
Messier 27.jpg (97.87 KiB) Viewed 3063 times
turfpit

Re: Messier 27: A SharpCap-PixInsight Combination

Post by turfpit »

Very nice, the C11 certainly brings out the detail. An identical capture with no moon would be an interesting comparison.

Dave
umasscrew39

Post by umasscrew39 »

Thanks, Dave. And agree on a new moon image for more details. The hot, humid FL summer is not the time to really do this but the new Optolong duo narrowband filter certainly helps. I'm also hoping that as my SC and PI skills improve, so will the images. I especially like this approach as my scope is 11ft up on a permanent pier in my observatory and I would rather not have to guide if I can keep my AP1100 working well at 60s exposures.

Bruce
nexusjeep

Post by nexusjeep »

Nice image, longer term I am considering a second camera and am planning on looking at a colour one, how are you finding the optolong filter as I was seriously considering it as an option at the same time.

Cheers
Nick
umasscrew39

Post by umasscrew39 »

Hi Nick

Thank you.