Getting hold of the pause button in Live Stacking

Discussions on extending SharpCap using the built in Python scripting functionality
Post Reply
BillC2018
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 6:39 pm

Getting hold of the pause button in Live Stacking

Post by BillC2018 » Sun May 20, 2018 7:54 pm

Hi!
Is there a way to pause the camera while live stacking (or at least pause the stacking). When I am doing a regular capture sequence I can set the selected camera pause flag to true when I send the message to phd to do a dither, and then set it back to false when phd reports that it is doing guiding again.
I was thinking I could take the same approach with Live stacking, I can just use the framecount to tell when to dither, but for the live of me I cant find a way to pause / stop the stacking process while dithering is happening.

Thanks !

Bill

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Getting hold of the pause button in Live Stacking

Post by admin » Sun May 20, 2018 8:06 pm

It's easy :)

Code: Select all

SharpCap.LiveStacking.Parameters.Paused = True
... dither ...
... wait at least one frame to avoid stacking dithered frame ...
SharpCap.LiveStacking.Parameters.Paused = False
Robin

BillC2018
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 6:39 pm

Re: Getting hold of the pause button in Live Stacking

Post by BillC2018 » Sun May 20, 2018 9:20 pm

Ahhh ..

Never thought to look for a .livestacking. object :) was going off the current camera .. Thanks!

BillC2018
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 6:39 pm

Re: Getting hold of the pause button in Live Stacking

Post by BillC2018 » Mon May 21, 2018 8:40 pm

So the next question would be is there a way to tell when LiveStacking is active as opposed to just previewing ?

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1659
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Getting hold of the pause button in Live Stacking

Post by admin » Mon May 21, 2018 8:49 pm

So, to tell if the live stacking panel is open and hence live stacking is active, use

Code: Select all

print SharpCap.LiveStacking.IsActive
I think that property and the 'Paused' property pretty much cover everything - you can either have

* live stacking off or
* live stacking on or
* live stacking on but paused

cheers,

Robin

BillC2018
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 6:39 pm

Re: Getting hold of the pause button in Live Stacking

Post by BillC2018 » Tue May 22, 2018 4:19 pm

Thanks .

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest