Sharpcap vs iPolar

Using SharpCap's Polar Alignment feature
Post Reply
BlackthornE
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2021 11:02 pm

Sharpcap vs iPolar

Post by BlackthornE »

iPolar vs Sharpcap, who to believe?

Why its different?

Image

Image
User avatar
Menno555
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 2:19 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Sharpcap vs iPolar

Post by Menno555 »

The Ipolar is off. The Ipolar software is bugged since version 2.30. A lot of complaints about that already and I am mailing with Ioptron and testing. We are now looking into firmware that might be the cause that the newer software acting this way because for some it works fine and for others it doesn't.
But if you use version 2.21, it will be fine. It doesn't have the green indicator and no auto gain but it works the same.
They made the version 2.21 available here: https://www.ioptron.com/v/firmware/3339 ... lar221.exe

Menno
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6621
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Sharpcap vs iPolar

Post by admin »

Hi,

just to be fair – SharpCap can give incorrect readings for the polar alignment if you have any movement of the camera or guide scope relative to the mount as you rotate from the first position to the second. For instance if you have a dangling USB cable from the back of the guide camera, the change in direction of the pull of the weight of that cable can cause your guide camera or guide scope to move slightly in some circumstances. Any shift of that sort would lead to errors in the SharpCap calculation.

If you check out this page, it has instructions on how to check to see if that problems affecting you : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap/fea ... leshooting

Cheers, Robin
Post Reply