Can't solve second step

Using SharpCap's Polar Alignment feature
Post Reply
MisterBill
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 6:40 pm

Can't solve second step

Post by MisterBill » Sun Sep 09, 2018 8:24 am

Just got in from closing my "2 hour no cloud window". Spent 1hr 55 minutes trying to get 3.1 to solve second step. I tried numerous times and could get step one almost instantly but never second step. Restarted and slewed to a new FOV and no luck. If it said "Rotate Further" I would. Screen would change to "Working" and find any number of stars up to 21/18 and no solve.
I have min pixel set to 3 to ignore hot pixels and max set to 20 to allow big stars. When the top of screen tells me 400 + fails I restart.

Third night of the same problem.

Thanks in advance,
Bill

BTW: I've been a SC user since the beginning and love it. Thank you for your effort.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2085
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't solve second step

Post by admin » Sun Sep 09, 2018 10:52 am

Hi Bill,

have you had a look at the troubleshooting hints for Polar Alignment? https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap/fea ... leshooting

In particular, read through the 'Stuck in Step 2 or Step 3' and see if any of the suggestions there help. If still no luck then please capture some frames (snapshot button) in the 2nd position and share them.

thanks,

Robin

MisterBill
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 6:40 pm

Re: Can't solve second step

Post by MisterBill » Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:21 am

SOLVED!
Had my first break in the clouds tonight. Gave it another try. Took out a different computer and camera cable and everything worked the first try.

Thanks for the tips. Great product. Found my first version of SharpCap is 1.04 from summer of 2011.

Thanks again for everything over the years.
Bill
27N 80W

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2085
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't solve second step

Post by admin » Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:57 am

Good to hear that it is sorted!

If you are at 27N latitude then make sure you enter your lat/long and turn on refraction correction in the plate solve settings for best accuracy.

cheers,

Robin

MisterBill
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 6:40 pm

Re: Can't solve second step

Post by MisterBill » Wed Sep 12, 2018 3:11 pm

Another great tip, Thanks.
Bill

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest