Trying to get better view of results

Discussions of Electronically Assisted Astronomy using the Live Stacking feature.
givoly

Trying to get better view of results

Post by givoly »

I'm fairly new to EAA and to SharpCap Pro.

However, my desire is to get as close as possible to the results of astrophotography - but not with hours of post processing, instead, to see it live in the field with EAA using SharpCap Pro.

What has been frustrating for me is that the same raw data (saved raw frames, calibration frames, etc.) can produce MUCH better results with a bit of processing in photoshop compared to how I see them on screen.

Is there something I can do within SharpCap Pro to get closer to the result after post-processing the same raw data?
I think alignment in SharpCap is perfect. Stacking and noise reduction, as well. The issue is post-processing the result for display. I don't have enough controls there. Only histograph, a bit of sharpening and (in-this-case-unnecessary) noise reduction.

As an example, here is what I see on screen with best settings I could figure out vs. after DSS+PS for same raw material (90x15sec subs with 10bias/10dark at ISO6400 on unmodified Canon T7i with 100mm/f/2.8 @ f/5.6 LAOWA lens placed on iOptron SkyGuider Pro).

On screen:
M22 sharpcap screenshot.png
M22 sharpcap screenshot.png (913.7 KiB) Viewed 3145 times
DSS (could just as well have been saved SharpCap frame) + a bit of PS (stretching/curves/camera raw filter - no brushes):
DSS M22b.png
DSS M22b.png (512.23 KiB) Viewed 3145 times
And, of course, this applies to all objects - I want to get more clarity, saturation, color separation, contrast, etc.

As you can see, "night and day" even though this comes from exactly the same source data - in fact, it's just the final image that is being post-processed to extract all the data.

Is this something I can do today with better configuration/settings of SharpCap Pro or is are additional post-processing features required?
admin