Better Pause for Live Stacking

Discussions of Electronically Assisted Astronomy using the Live Stacking feature.
Post Reply
jasondoyle
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:59 pm

Better Pause for Live Stacking

Post by jasondoyle » Fri Aug 23, 2019 4:10 pm

Whenever I tell SharpCap Pro to plate solve it erases the current live stack, even when paused. This is troublesome after a meridian flip when I have to to do a plate solve to center the image. It would be nice if the live stack persisted through the plate solve routine.

A next level request would be that SharpCap Live Stack would be smart enough to detect a percentage of variance from the stack (like a decreasing star pattern match), pause the stack, then auto-perform a plate solve and resume the live stack. Though this may require an ability to send commands to PHD to stop, then auto pick a star and resume guiding which would complicate things.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3097
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Better Pause for Live Stacking

Post by admin » Fri Aug 23, 2019 4:49 pm

Hi,

That's odd – I just tried the same thing with the test camera image and didn't get any reset of the stack when using either the blind plate solver from the menu or the plate solver from the mount control. From your comments though it appears you might be using the PHD integration in SharpCap, which might be relevant to this.

Anyway, perhaps if you could post the full SharpCap log of a similar incident then I might be able to pick apart what's going on.

Cheers, Robin

jasondoyle
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:59 pm

Re: Better Pause for Live Stacking

Post by jasondoyle » Sat Aug 24, 2019 3:49 pm

Here's the log.

I did a file save at 23:25. Shortly after paused the live stack, stopped PHD, did the meridian flip, did another plate solve. At that point it appeared the live stack reset. The live stack window may have closed when I did the plate solve which is when I think the live stack reset. I don't think I closed the live stack.
Attachments
Log_2019-08-17T20_45_26-992.log
(276.09 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

jasondoyle
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:59 pm

Re: Better Pause for Live Stacking

Post by jasondoyle » Sat Aug 24, 2019 3:59 pm

Ok... looking the log here might be what I actually did.

after the meridian flip I think I probably did click the Live Stack button on the toolbar as I wanted to view the live image. I wanted to verify I had a good live image to plate solve from. I also may have changed exposure settings to capture more stars.

May be I just need guidance as to the recommended way to plate solve while in the middle of a live stack.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3097
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Better Pause for Live Stacking

Post by admin » Sat Aug 31, 2019 10:51 am

Hi,

It should just be as simple as

Pause stacking
change the drop down in live stacking to view the raw frames instead of the stack
run Meridian flip
hit the plate solver and sync button
change the drop down back to view the stack
resume stacking

I must admit I've never tried this procedure but it seems likely it should work.

Cheers, Robin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests